Just in case some important system files or configurations get deleted or overwritten, the Omega can be restored to a factory state. Performing a Factory Restore on your Omega will revert all files to the default for the currently installed firmware, all other files will be deleted.
So a factory restore will not revert to the firmware that was actually installed at the factory, it will essentially create a clean slate on our Omega’s currently installed firmware.
Make sure that you understand that a factory restore is a destructive action and that all user files should be backed up before performing a factory restore!
Using a Command
To perform a factory restore on the command line, run the following commands:
firstboot -y sync reboot
These commands will:
- Revert the firmware to a clean slate
- Ensure all storage opeartions are complete
- Reboot the Omega for the changes to take effect